The Royal Ocean Film Society präsentiert: ISAO TAKAHATA The other Master

(gefunden auf:

Today’s subject is the idea of a story filter or lens. Often utilized through genre, this idea is sometimes the very best method at getting to the heart of what your story is really about. So, let’s explore that idea- but rather than through genre- through animation. And let’s use the work of one of the of form’s greatest contemporary directors as our example.

For educational purposes only.

Interview w/Roger Ebert on ‚Grave of the Fireflies‘ –

Further Reading-
The Anime Machine by Thomas LaMarre –
AnimeLand w/Takahata –
Pile of Shame review of ‚Hols, Prince of the Sun‘ by Justin Sevakis –

You can follow me through:
Official Website-

Die Spezial-Preise der Annie Awards 2016

The Winsor McCay Award is given to individuals in recognition of lifetime or career contributions in animation. The award is presented at the annual Annie Awards, presented by the International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood. The award was established in 1972, and is named in honor of pioneer animator Winsor McCay.

Isao Takahata

Phil Roman

Joe Ranft

June Foray Award – for their significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation

Don Hahn


Wir sind erreichbar! Seid nicht schüchtern, schreibt uns oder schickt uns eine Zeichnung.